The Islamic Perspective

“Those who believe and lead a righteous life, and observe the Prayers (Salat), and give the obligatory charity (Zakat), they receive their recompense from their Lord; they will have nothing to fear, nor will they grieve.” [Al Quran 2:277]

LRBT Zakat Dispersion Shariah Compliant

  • LRBT is 100% Shariah Compliant.
  • LRBT ensures that Zakat money is spent only on the treatment of ‘mustaheq’ patients.
    We have an internal process of verifying that the Zakat contender falls under one of the 8 categories as laid down in Islam.
    Our In-house counselors are trained and monitored by the on-board Shariah Advisor. Information of patients receiving treatment through zakat money is vetted before issuance of treatment amount through the LRBT Zakat fund.
  • Treatment at LRBT is 100% free of cost for all poor. However, they are required to go through the in-house counselor who, as per the instructions of the Shariah Advisor, helps gauge if they are ‘mustaheq’ or not. If they are, treatment is funded from the Zakat pool or else through the ‘Donation’ pool. Separate accounts are maintained for both Zakat and Donations. Donors have to specify which pool they want to donate to.
  • Name of Shariah Advisor: Mufti Mohammad Ibrahim Isa Darul Uloom- Korangi (Karachi)

“Zakat (alms) is only for the Fuqara’ (the poor), and Al-Masakin (the needy) and those employed to collect (the funds); and to attract the hearts of those who have been inclined (towards Islam); and to free the captives; and for those in debt; and for Allah’s Cause, and for the wayfarer (a traveler who is cut off from everything); a duty imposed by Allah. And Allah is All-Knower, All-Wise.” [Al-Quran 9:60]

According to Quran, Zakat is distributed among 8 asnaf (categories) of people:

  • Fuqara (poor) – One who has neither material possessions nor means of livelihood.
  • Masakin (needy) – One with insufficient means of livelihood to meet basic needs.
  • Amil – One who is appointed to collect zakat.
  • Muallaf – One who converts to Islam.
  • Riqab – One who wants to free himself from bondage or the shackles of slavery.
  • Gharmin – One who is in debt (money borrowed to meet basic, halal expenditure).
  • Fisabillillah – One who fights for the cause of Allah.
  • Ibnus Sabil – One who is stranded in journey.

*LRBT patients under Zakat pertains to Fuqara and Masakin.
While zakat is not the only form of charity in Islam, it is essentially important (farz) and stands as the Third Pillar of Islam. Through zakat the prosperous can uplift the poor, help those who are troubled and comfort those who are in hardship. The law of zakat establishes the rights of the poor to support and help deserving Muslims.
Zakat has the power to change the world. But it starts with you paying it.

Shariah Compliance Certificate

Shariah Compliance Certificate

Our LocationsOur Locations

  • Select Province

  • Select City

  • Reset